Mid Kerry Senior Football Championship Final 2017 – Beaufort Vs. Glenbeigh/Glencar

Beaufort 1-14  Vs.  Glenbeigh/Glencar 0-14


JP O’Sullivan park was the venue for the Mid Kerry Senior Championship Football Final 2017 and what a final it was.  The Beaufort Seniors (sponsored by Maurice Foley of MF Decorating) got off to a slow start conceding 5 points to Gelnbeigh/Glencar, three from frees for Tommy Cahill and Darran O’Sullivan and two from play for Bernard Murphy and Jason O’Connor, until into the tenth minute Fergal Hallissey got scoring under way with a point from play.  Glenbeigh/Glencar once again pushed on with another point from play for Bernard Murphy and Haulie Breen with just a handful of wides for the Beaufort men in response.  The first half turn around came some twenty minutes in which saw Fergal Hallissey scoring three points and Ronan Murphy scoring a point all from play.  Glenbeigh/Glencar’s Haulie Breen added another point to his tally along with a point from Tommy Cahill and two quick points for Bernard Murphy just at half time.  Half Time Score:- Beaufort 0-05   Glenbeigh/Glencar 0-11


With a six point deficit in front of them going into the second half it looked like the Beaufort men had a mountain to climb to bring the Michael O’Connor Cup back home for a second year in a row.  Glenbeigh/Glencar once again opened the scoring with a free from Tommy Cahill but Liam Carey was hot on the scoring heels sending one cleanly over the cross-bar.  After a quick point from a free for Glenbeigh/Glencar, Fergal Hallissey once again pointed from a free and then went on to set up the ball for half time substitution Padraig Doona who sent the ball blazing into the back of the net closing the gap to just three points.  Doona swiftly scored again with a point from play and shortly after Beaufort keeper Mike Moriarty beautifully saved a goal attempt by Glenbeigh/Glencar.  Beaufort were in full power after the goal high with points for James O’Reilly, Fergal Hallissey, Darragh Coffey and Padraig Doona while the Beaufort defence kept Glenbeigh/Glencar from scoring.  Towards the end of the second half there was a handful of cards shown to both teams and a series of wides for Glenbeigh/Glencar before Mike Breen sealed the deal for Beaufort with the final point of the afternoon.  Man of the match deservedly went to Mike Breen.  Congratulations to the Beaufort Senior Team and management, Garry McGrath, Eanna O’Malley, Fergus Kelly and Dr. Brendan Lynch.  Full Time Score:-  Beaufort 1-14   Glenbeigh/Glencar 0-14


Beaufort Team:- Mike Moriarty, Jonathan Kissane, Gerard Hartnett, Cormac O’Connor, Sean Kelliher, Mike Breen (0-01), James O’Reilly (0-01), Ronan Murphy (C) (0-01), Nathan Breen, Fergal Hallissey (0-07), Liam Carey (0-01), Ciaran Kennedy, Niall O’Connor, Ronan Ferris, Darragh Coffey (0-01).  Subs:- Jason Foley, Padraig O’Sullivan, Michael John O’Connor, Danny Healy, Shane O’Sullivan, Kevin Ferris, Jeremiah O’Sullivan, Padraig Doona (1-02), Padraig Hartnett, Padraig Hallissey, Cian O’Connor, Gary Tangney, Francis Courtney, Sean Foley, Conor Breen.


Glenbeigh/Glencar Team:- Rory O’Connor, Sean Roche, Jerry Hoare, Ciaran Doyle, Jack Brosnan, Pa Kilkenny (C), Stephen O’Sullivan, Colin McGillicuddy, Fergal Griffin, Jason McKenna, Caolim Teahan, Bernard Murphy, Haulie Breen, Tommy Cahill, Darran O’Sullivan: Subs:- Eugene Courtney, Shane Riordan, Caolite Purcell, Micheal Walsh, Daniel Murphy, Mark O’Sullivan, Calvin Teahan, Kieran Cahillane, Adrian O’Connor, Maurice O’Connor, Daonal O’Neill, Gavan O’Grady.