Beaufort collect valuable league points against Kerins O’ Rahilly’s in an entertaining encounter at Coughlan Park.

Beaufort 2-11 Kerins O’ Rahilly’s 0-13

(Beaufort Senior Men kindly sponsored by MF Decorating, Kilgobnet, Beaufort.)

On a blustery Saturday evening in Coughlan Park Beaufort, these two teams produced a highly entertaining and fast paced game. At the end of the opening quarter the teams were level at 3 points a piece. The opening two scores came from Kerins O’ Rahilly’s thanks to Ryan Carroll (1st min) and Cormac Coffey (4th min). A 20m free for Beaufort after 5 minutes saw Fergal Hallissey slot over his first of 5 points of the evening. A nice run through in the 10th minute by Fergal Hallissey saw a well timed pass to Padraig O’ Sullivan who took his shot at goal but Cillian Moran deflected it over the bar for Beaufort’s second point of the evening. 2 minutes later Ronan Ferris had a nice point from play to bring Beaufort’s tally to 3 points. Bang on the quarter of an hour mark Jack Savage kicked the first of his 7 points of the evening for Kerins O’ Rahilly’s to draw the sides level.

Ronan Murphy took his scoring opportunity for Beaufort when he slotted over a point after 15 and a half minutes. 3 minutes later Tommy Walsh popped over a point for Kerins O’ Rahilly’s. Scoring stayed low throughout the first half with good defending by both teams. Almost 8 minutes lapsed before we saw another score. Jack Savage notching over his 2nd point for Kerins O’ Rahilly’s and this would be their last of the first half. 4 minutes later, a good run through by Ian McGillycuddy for Beaufort and a pass to Fergal Hallissey saw him take his point. 2 more points would follow for Beaufort from Mike Breen (30th minute) and Ronan Murphy (3rd minute of added time) . The final minute of the half saw a penalty being awarded to Kerins O’ Rahilly’s for a leg block. Ryan Carroll stepped up to take the penalty but a great save by Mike Moriarty kept Beaufort in front by 2 at half time.

Half Time: Beaufort 0-7 Kerins O’ Rahilly’s 0-5

The 3rd quarter of the match was Kerins O’ Rahilly’s purple patch even though they were reduced to 14 men after 32 minutes when Cormac Coffey was sent off for striking an opponent. This was followed by 3 unanswered points from Jack Savage (33 & 36th minutes) and Tommy Walsh (38th minute) after a good build up from their own goal. Over 10 minutes passed before Beaufort had their first score of the 2nd half, a point from Padraig O’ Sullivan after a 45 from Fergal Hallissey dropped short in front of the goal.

It was all to play for entering the final quarter of the match. But 30 seconds into the final quarter Ronan Ferris received the ball from Fergal Hallissey in front of the Kerins O’ Rahilly’s goal and dutifully buried the ball in the back of the net. 2 minutes later Ryan Carroll scored a nice point from a 45 for Kerins O’ Rahilly’s and a minute later Jack Savage kicked a nice point from a 20m free at a tight angle. The next 2 points would come from Beaufort, both from Fergal Hallissey, one in the 53rd minute from play and the second from a 35m free in the 55th minute. After a scramble in front of the Beaufort goals Cian Sayers kicked a point in the 56th minute. 2 minutes later Jack Savage pointed a 30m free leaving only a point between the teams heading into the final minute of ordinary time. A 20m free saw Fergal Hallissey pointing for Beaufort in the 1st minute of added time and less than a minute later the game was put beyond doubt when Padraig Doona fisted the ball into the back of the Kerins O’ Rahilly’s goal. The final score of the game was in the 5th minute of added time when Jack Savage pointed a 20m free for Kerins O’ Rahilly’s.

Full Time: Beaufort 2-11 Kerins O’ Rahilly’s 0-13

Beaufort Team: Mike Moriarty, Cormac O’ Connor, Gerard Hartnett, Sean Kelliher,
James O’ Reilly, Mike Breen (0-1), Jeremiah O’ Sullivan, Ronan Murphy (0-2), Nathan Breen (C),Fergal Hallissey (0-5),Padraig O’ Sullivan (0-2),Jonathon Kissane, Ciaran Kennedy,Ronan Ferris (1-1), Ian McGillycuddy.

Subs: Padraig Doona (0-1) for Jonathon Kissane (Black card), Micheal O’ Sullivan for Padraig O’Sullivan.

Kerins O’ Rahilly’s Team: Cillian Moran, Danny O’Sullivan(C), Ross O’Callaghan, Darragh McElligott,Cian Sayers (0-1),Ryan Carroll (0-2),Karl Mullins,Con Barrett,John C O’Connor,Gavin O’Brien,Tommy Walsh (0-2),Padraig Griffin,John Ferguson, Cormac Coffey (0-1),Gearóid Dillane.

Subs: Sean Collins for Gearoid Dillane, Donagh O’ Brien for Padraig Griffin, Jack Savage (0-7) for Con Barrett.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s